What Did I Tell You?

Did I not say the Bruins were going to drag this series out?

I did, didn’t I. Now we’ve got a game six Sunday night at seven-thirty. My dad’s pissed he can’t watch it. I guess that’s what happens when you grow up and get a real job. Game seven would be Monday night at seven. If it needs to go that far (please Bruins, don’t make it go that far). Granted if it does, I’ve got my hands on some premium balcony seats.

I really don’t have much to say on how they’ve been playing. Mostly because I have a not-real-life job and get stuck working game nights. I was hoping for overtime tonight so I’d be able to come home for some of the game. Alas no. But I did watch the NYRangers lose (boo) and the LAKings win (yay!). Playoff hockey is the best man.

I can write about whatever I want, and what I really want to talk about are the Islanders. Like who would have thought those little guys would have two wins over the Penguins? Happy days! I’m missing their game tomorrow because of work but I’ll still be cheering them on.

Baaack to black and gold, (see what I did there), after reading the post-game interviews all the guys are upset. Clearly. They lost, and a lot of them acknowledge that they weren’t playing the full 60minutes.

 
Oh I guess I do have things to talk about. Like Matt Bartkowski being called up for his first NHL playoff game. Claude Julien must really not like Dougie. Hah. Just kidding, Bartkowski shoots left, Hamilton right. We saw what having Ference on the off-side did to us the other night, and Seidenberg on the left side was just baaaad. Thus calling Bart up, to keep our players on their preferred ice-sides, is Julien’s motive.

It’s been a rocky playoff run for Ference, who had to sit out in Game 2. When talking to Globe staff he called sitting out, “Nerve-racking… You’re just sitting there. I think I probably bruised Daugy’s arm, hitting him so many times. You just hate it. But that’s the way it is.” (Daugy being the affectionate team nickname for Kaspars Daugavins).

Our team is hurting without Wade Redden right now, and who would have thought that seasoned vet was going to be what our team needed? His injury is day-to-day, so hopefully we will see him back on Sunday and our D will tighten up. From looking at the highlights those were some piss-poor plays from our defense. Ference and Boychuk are both looking pretty guilty tonight. Had I watched I would probably have negative commentary on Chara, but alas all I can say now is good for him getting our only goal of the night.

Fun fact: If we see a playoff goal by Jaromir Jagr this run he will tie Jean Beliveau for 10th on the all-time playoff goals list with 79 ^BB. Jagr is just setting all of the records with the Bruins.

Also the Rangers need to come back, force a game seven, and win this business. I do not want to face the Caps in the playoffs again. Every time I hear Holtby’s name I get increasingly violent. I’m just glad our AHL team came back and kicked their AHL team in the butt. Take that Hershey! Also for anyone interested, the PBruins beat the Wilkes Barre Scranton Penguins 8-5 tonight in Providence for Game 1 of the AHL Eastern Conference Semi-Finals.

Anyway, now that Finals week is over and I’m a graduate I will have more time to write posts full of nonsense like this one. So keep it here for more playoff fun facts and trivia and ramblings. I leave you with a quote from our extremely tall captain, Zee: “It’s the playoffs. You can’t be sitting on your wins or your losses. You’ve got to move on.”

And move on we shall.
Hopefully with more fire.

Go B’s!

-Kaylin

Thoughts?

