Getting on the Air; 98.5 The Sports Hub

I was fortunate enough to go to the Bruins game tonight. Fortunate? You say, but they lost, you also say. True. They did lose and it was horrible. That is not why I am so ecstatic though.

Positive notes, the tickets were free (Thanks Mom!), so the night was starting on a good foot. Then there was the bonus that it was military appreciation night, with the very fitting digital camouflage jerseys for warm ups. Adam McQuaid was back!! Which was excellent of course. (Well, not for Dougie Hamilton, who was a healthy scratch this evening).

Negative notes, Jordan Caron was on the roster poster they handed out, and I think this blog knows my feelings on him quite well. Second Brad Marchand was not playing, due to an elbow to the head from Wednesday night’s game . Third being that they well, lost.

BUT HERES THE BEST PART.

I GOT ON THE AIR.

FOR 98.5 THE SPORTS HUB!!!

So the game ends, painfully. The Bruins had the whole third period to spark any sort of fire to get their team going. Do they? No of course not. They stood there with the puck, not even waiting on a line change! Andrew Ference stood there just waiting for something to open up, which is the worst play I’ve ever heard of. And then towards the end of the game, final two minutes Chara decides to take a huge detour with the puck back around the Bruins empty net! You’re the captain for Pete’s sake why on Earth are you making bad plays. Chara to me seems like a giant liability at times, but that’s a story for another day.

So my roommate Amanda and I are hanging out in the parking garage listening to the Sports Hub, because well, that’s what you do after going to a Bruins game. All of the sudden, Adam Jones starts taking the loss out on Claude. Which is an act I’ve never been a fan of, I understand that being a coach you’re supposed to push the boys in the right direction, but come on! How is it Claude’s fault that the boys are making all of these blind passes (heads up, if your name is not Marc Savard, don’t bother), turning over the puck, and just not being where they need to be?

So big mouth me decides, you know what. I’m going to text in.

AND I DID. AND ADAM JONES READ IT ON AIR. BOOM.

Screen Shot - SPORTSHUB

But before he read it I decided no, you know what I’m going to call. And so I did. And then I recited my text to the girl and she asked my name and where I was calling from and put me on hoooold! And I was shaking and my stomach was in knots and it was a really exciting thing for me, because my dad and I listened to the Sports Hub driving home from every Bruins game I’ve ever gone to. It has always been a want of mine to call in and say my opinion.

So anyway, while I was on hold they put on the radio through your phone. For anyone who hasn’t worked in a radio station, there is a delay between the radio you hear, and the person actually speaking. I put my phone on speaker so my friend could listen also, when all of the sudden I hear him reading my text. Flailing occurred I cannot lie.

Anyway I’m still on hold, and they’re talking about my text and how I’m right and the boys do hold the responsibility (duh). They take another caller who decides to go on about… er the Pats or the Red Sox. I don’t really remember. AND THEN ITS MY TURN.

We were still in the garage and my phone started going in and out of service so I like jumped out of the car and ran to the wall and he’s all “Hey” and I’m like “hi I’m coming from the game and I haveafewthingstosay” and then I remembered to breathe and continued.

I talked about how Milan Lucic spent the entire night looking like a loaf of bread. Which they loved. No, seriously, they loved it. They made a sound clip of it and kept playing it over the next two hours. Don’t get me wrong I used to be the biggest Looch fan. Now not so much. Why was he put on the line with Jagr and Campbell? He’s not playing well at all and should BE demoted down to third or fourth line.

I also mentioned that the Bruins had no sense of urgency in that dwindling last 10 minutes of the third. I quoted Jagr from the other night when he had talked about not knowing how much time was remaining on the clock, and about Chara’s detour and how the Bruins didn’t want to win tonight. And then my phone cut out.

But there it is ladies and gents! My five minutes of Sports Hub fame. I feel like I’ve caught a bug now. Maybe I’ll call in after every game! Eeee exciting.

Also, the Montreal Canadiens beat the Buffalo Sabers 5-1 so the Bruins fell back out of first in the division, and down the fourth in the conference. Great game to blow guys, not. This was supposed to be an easy week.

Anyway before that ruins my mood, does anyone know how I could get my hands on the mp3 of last night’s Adam Jones show?

Thanks much! Go B’s!

-Kaylin

Thoughts?

